The Ernst Wagemann Best Article Prize

The editors of AEQ are pleased to announce that beginning in 2008, authors of the best article published in AEQ during the previous two years will be awarded a €2,000 prize, sponsored by the Society of Friends of DIW Berlin (*Vereinigung der Freund des DIW Berlin*). The award is known as the "Ernst Wagemann Best Article Prize" in memory of the renowned economist and statistician who founded DIW Berlin in 1925, and who acted as a pioneering and influential force in applied economic research in Germany aimed at deriving new policy concepts to improve the general welfare. The winners of the Ernst Wagemann Best Article Prize will be selected every two years by the editors of AEQ.

The winner of this year's Ernst Wagemann Best Article Prize goes to Natália Barbosa for her article "An Integrative Model of Firms' Entry Decisions," published in AEQ 1, 2007. The paper provides an exemplary and technically mature econometric analysis of industry dynamics, market entry, and the involved strategic interactions between incumbents and entrants, using non-linear panel data models and three-digit industry data for Portugal.